MDP suffers staggering defeat in Parliamentary Elections

21 Apr 2024 | 21:53
Former President of MDP, Mohamed Nasheed, MDP chairperson Fayyaz Ismail and Former President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih

In a surprising turn of events, the Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) and its  partner, The Democrats, faced a resounding defeat in the parliamentary elections held today.

The Democrats failed to secure any seats, while MDP only managed to win a handful.

Among the notable losses was that of Mohamed Aslam, the Speaker of Parliament and incumbent North Hithadhoo MP, who was defeated by a candidate from the ruling Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM/PNC).

Several prominent MDP members, including Eva Abdulla of North Galolhu constituency, Ali Azim of Central Henveyru constituency, Imthiyaz Fahumy of North Maafannu constituency, Hussain Shaheem of South Henveyru constituency, and Mohamed Falah of West Maafannu constituency, suffered defeat in the elections.

Additionally, Ahmed Saleem of Hoarafushi constituency, representing MDP, faced a loss as well.

Notably, MDP also lost the Lh. Hinnavaru constituency, which was considered a stronghold of former President Mohamed Solih.

Even Akram Kamaluddin, who took credit for efforts in addressing housing issues, failed to secure a seat.

In Male', MDP's influence seems to have diminished significantly.

On the opposing side, candidates such as Jabir from Kaashidhoo constituency and former Home Minister Imran also faced defeat.

These losses have sparked speculation about the future trajectory of MDP and its coalition efforts.

Observers are closely watching the efforts of the former MDP president, who now leads The Democrats, to revitalize the party in the wake of this electoral setback.