India's Prashant More dominates Swiss League in Asian Carrom Championship

28 Apr 2024 | 19:34
Prashant More from India (Photo/ Carrom Association of Maldives)

In the inaugural day of the 6th Asian Carrom Championship, Prashant More of India emerged as the Swiss League champion last night, displaying remarkable skill and dominance in the competition's opening event.

Held at the Social Centre, More secured victory by triumphing in all matches across seven rounds, accumulating a total of 14 points.

Renowned for his past achievements, More notably clinched the title of World Champion in 2016 and emerged victorious in the Single event at the World Cup in 2018.

Claiming the second position was Mohamed Shaheed Hilmy from Sri Lanka, followed closely by Bangladesh's Hafizur Rahman in third place.

Noteworthy performances also came from India's Mohamed Aarif and Sandeep Dive, the former World Champion, who secured the fourth and fifth spots respectively.

In a tightly contested battle among the top 4 players, final rankings were determined based on batch points when multiple contestants tied with the same score.

Among the top ten contenders in the Swiss League, Sri Lanka's Anas Ahmed secured the sixth spot, followed by Srinivas Komervelli of India in seventh place, and Nishantha Fernando of Sri Lanka in eighth place, who previously claimed the title of World Champion in 2012.

Rashmi Kumari from India, the reigning female World Champion, secured the ninth position, while Jugal Kishor Datta rounded off the top ten.

This year's championship witnessed the participation of around 80 players in the Swiss League, including 15 representatives from the Maldives.

Leading the Maldivian contingent was Hassan Naazim, who secured the 17th position by winning five out of seven matches, Ismail Azmeen, the Maldives' top-ranked player, also showcased commendable performance, securing the 21st position with four wins.

After an 11-year hiatus, the Asian Carrom Championship has returned with great fervor, attracting participants from various countries including India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bangladesh, Maldives, Singapore, Malaysia, and Korea.

Notably, four former World Championship winners are also among the participants, adding to the competition's prestige and excitement.